Proof Covers

On Friday I got home after a pretty horrible commute to find a smooth, clean-edged, sharp-cornered, cardboard reinforced ‘Do Not Bend’ envelope from Quercus. I had an idea of what it contained, although had not been expecting them so soon; proof covers.

These are reproductions of the cover of a book, front and back, printed on A4 pieces of card. If, like me, you see and admire book covers as pieces of work in their own right, then receiving the proof covers of your own book is a very exciting thing. You may have already seen the cover as a digital image, but it’s only when you see it printed, as it would be when wrapped around an actual book, that you know for sure what the book will look like.

Here’s a photo of the front cover:

And here’s a photo of the back cover:

I cannot quite capture the vibrancy of the green and orange of the actual print, but take my word for it – it’s very vibrant and lovely.

Also, that text on the back of the book – I could never have summarised the story in such a succinct, intriguing or accurate way. I am full of admiration for people who can write effective cover copy. For those of you who’ve asked, that’s what the story is about, right there.

7 Responses to “Proof Covers”

  1. Persona non grata Says:

    Nice quote from the Times. Beats any non-mention in the Whitehaven News.

  2. fellhouse Says:

    Thank you.

  3. Looks great Tom, can’t wait to read it! (is that St.Bees lighthouse?)

    • fellhouse Says:

      Thanks Andrew!

      I don’t know which actual lighthouse is used on the cover… the one on the pier at Whitehaven features heavily in the book though. You might recognise a few other places too 🙂

  4. Hi, I have just finished reading The Leaping, which I enjoyed very much! THEN I noticed on the back page advertising your new book that it’s based in Whitehaven, where I live. I’m very excited to read your new book. I will buy it when it comes out.

    PS The cover looks great! 😀

    • fellhouse Says:

      Thank you Emma! I’m very glad you enjoyed ‘The Leaping’. And I’m glad that you like the cover of the second book. I’m very happy with it myself.

      Hopefully the Whitehaven of ‘The Thing on the Shore’ will feel familiar to you. I used to live there myself, and really love the place. That said, the book focuses on the grimmer aspect of the town. I think people are generally less romantic about places they know well…

  5. I have to agree with you there! I’ve lived in Whitehaven all my life and I can certainly say theres a definate grimness to it haha. Mostly with it being so old, the pier especially.

Leave a Reply

