Waterstones Reading / Signing

EVERYBODY. I will be reading from THE LEAPING, taking questions (if anybody has any) and signing copies of the book at the Deansgate Waterstones in Manchester at 7pm on Wednesday 26th May. Please, please, please come along. We’ll go for drinks afterwards, all of us. (Well, anybody who wants to).

Tickets are £3, redeemable against copies of the book. And there will be wine, juice, small things to eat, etc… all in all, pretty much everything you could ever hope for.

15 Responses to “Waterstones Reading / Signing”

  1. Oh, might try and make a pilgrimage down Mr. F 🙂

  2. Do I need to buy my ticket in advance?

  3. Colin Dodd Says:

    I have just given up trying to read The Leaping. It is banal in the extreme and must rate as the worst “book” I have ever picked up. Good luck with the guitar lessons, hope you have more success there.

    • fellhouse Says:

      Thank you very much for your feedback, Colin.

    • I’m sure Colin’s right. I’m sure the Leaping isn’t as good as the two other “books” he’s read. I mean, the very hungry caterpillar was a classic and Where’s Wally will always be one of the greats.
      But I think The Leaping is pretty damn good. I haven’t finished it yet as I’m savouring it, but I can feel the tension mounting and look forward to seeing how the plot develops. In the meantime, I’ve two distinct and rounded characters to enjoy, which some amazing witty and original lines.
      Sod Colin, Tom. I’ve read a hell of a lot and there’s a hell of a lot of worse stuff out there. When you appear on Amazon lists next to King, Shelley and Stoker, you know you’re good.

      • fellhouse Says:

        Eden – wow. Thank you. Thank you for taking the time to offer your views on the book, and for reassuring me further that Colin’s feelings are not universal.

        And thanks for stopping by the blog in the first place! It’s always great to hear from a new visitor.

  4. Colin, I can only presume you have never read ‘American Psycho’.

    Of course, in that instance, banality is a necessary plot device. Just like in The Leaping. Again, I can only assume that you have never worked in a call centre…

  5. socrates adams Says:

    Colin Dodd seems like a great guy!

  6. I’m interested in Colin’s use of inverted commas around ‘book’. In what way does he think it does not constitute a book? Even if you don’t like it, mate, it’s still a book, surely? I mean, it’s not a banana, is it? Or a map of Paris. It’s a book.

  7. Tim Lebbon Says:

    The trouble with writing a banana is that they rot all the other ‘books’ in the ‘book’shop.

    • fellhouse Says:

      Hi Tim!

      A slight change of subject – have you ever written *on* a banana, with a biro? It’s brilliant.

  8. Tom

    I have done that. (written on a banana with a biro). I wanted to leave a get well soon message in someone’s pigeon-hole at Uni, and a banana was the only suitable writing material I had to hand. It worked a treat.

    I advise you to write all your future ‘works’ on ‘fruit’ of some ‘kind’. And remember to keep them in a brown paper bag because then they get ‘ripe’ but don’t go ‘bad’.

  9. Just because Tom is too polite to say it, “Colin you are a fucking wanker!”

Leave a Reply

